Adderall & pregnancy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adderall & pregnancy

I am currently taking Adderall 10mg 2x daily. I am not pregnant at this time but thinking about if I want more children. I am a registered nurse and currently in a graduate program. So I really need to continue taking something if I do decide to get pregnant. Is there something that is thought to be safer? I'm in my mid 30's, so I don't want to put off having a baby for to long if I decide to have one.

Thistxgrlrocks:

We do not at this time think that dextroamphetamine is teratogenic. The animal studies suggest minimal fetal effects. That said, we still do not normally recommend moms use dextroamphetamine while pregnant as some studies seem to suggest and increased risk of premature delivery. My advice would be to slowly taper off this drug prior to pregnancy and stay off for at least the first trimester, then the risk would be reduced to some degree.

Its better to go without for a while, than to chance having a problem with the infant during this most vital part of development, during the first trimester. Creating an infant is too important to risk for the benefits of this drug.

Tom Hale Ph.D.

Comment

Hello,
      I would also like to know more about the risks of taking Aderall during pregnancy. I recently learned I am 6 weeks pregnant and was taking about 10mg a day of Adderall IR. I've since cut down to 5mg but am still concerned about the potential effects the medication will have on my developing fetus. Taking the medication is very beneficial for my productivity and everyday functioning. At such a low dose, do you think the potential risk is minimal?

Comment

Hi, thanks for your post.

A specific relationship between dose and risk has not been established in pregnant women. The available information comes from animal models and a few case reports. I agree with Dr. Hale, the best compromise is to stay off the med at least for the first trimester.