Domperidone in the US

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Domperidone in the US

I am a fairly new lactation consultant (became an IBCLC last year)....I have come across a mom whom I think could benefit from domperidone....after trying all other ideas and persistent low milk supply....she brought this up to me to take domperidone but I am clueless about whether I should recommend it or how to help her get what she needs. I've read it can only be from a compounding pharmacist...and if so, how do I go about getting a doc to write a script and/or a pharmacist to fill it....not to mention getting it paid for by insurance. Also, will I "lose my IBCLC license" if I even suggest or encourage her to take this (assuming she can even get it in the US). I'm just confused about the "illegal vs. off label vs orphan drug status" propoganda about domperidone in the US. I want to help this mom but I don't want to get in trouble.....

Cara:

True, you do need a prescription for this medication and many physicians are willing to provide one, once they see and evaluate the patient. This is their job to make this decision.

My suggestions on determining if a mom needs domperidone is to simply do a prolactin level. Have the mom breastfeed, wait 2 hours and draw a blood sample. If the prolactin level is below 10 to 50 ng/mL, then she is probably hypoprolactinemic for a breastfeeding mother, and Reglan or Domperidone would probably work efficiently.

Normal prolactin levels for a fully breastfeeding mothers need to be above 70 or so at 6 months, and above 100 or so at 1-3 months. Ten mg TID of Reglan will increase it to over 125 ng/mL. 10-20 mg of Domperidone will do likewise.

Tom Hale Ph.D.
    Professor
    TTUHSC

Comment