Adderall

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Adderall

I was on Adderall through most of my pregnancy but stopped several weeks before delivery. I have been breastfeeding for 10 months and plan to continue for as long as my baby would like to. I also would like to go back on my medication as I am having greater and greater difficulty functioning. I haven't been able to find very much information on the effects of this medication while breastfeeding other than one study on one mother. Is there more information available? My dosage would be 5mg 2-3 times per day.

Dear cantsitstill,

Adderall (dextroamphetamine) is a potent, long-acting amphetamine. The typical daily dose is 5 to 60 mg so you are on a low dose. We know that 1.8 to 6.9 percent of your dose enters breastmilk. Most medications that enter breastmilk less than 10 percent typically are compatible with breastfeeding. The time Adderall would be most concentrated in your breastmilk would be one to two hours after your dose so it is usually best to breastfeed first then take your dose then wait two to three hours to resume breastfeeding. Monitor your infant for agitation and poor weight gain. As long as the dose is kept low, Adderall appears to be compatible with breastfeeding. There is an alternative medication called methylphenidate (Ritalin, Concerta) that has a lower amount that enters breastmilk. Only 0.2 to 0.4 percent of your dose would enter the milk compartment. The typical dose is 10 mg two to three times per day. The time the drug is most concentrated is one to three hours after the dose so avoid feeding during that time. Observe infant for insomnia and nervousness. Let me know if you have further questions.

Sincerely,
    Cindy Pride, MSN, CPNP
    TTUHSC InfantRisk Center

Comment