Breastfeeding with Humira

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breastfeeding with Humira

I tried calling the center multiple times today and could not get through. I hope to receive a response quickly as I am due in 5 days.

I was diagnosed with moderate to severe Crohn's Disease in 2005. I had resection surgery 9 months later and have maintained remission ever since due to Azathioprine and Humira. I have been on 100mg of Azathioprine and 40mg injection of Humira every other week. My gastroenterologist advised me to take a final injection of Humira when I was 32 weeks pregnant as after that is when the baby is soaking up my antibodies at a very high rate. I should continue Humira a few days after giving birth. The plan is to take me off of Azathioprine after I give birth because I have been doing very well for a few years now. I have stayed on the Azathioprine throughout the pregnancy as a kind of maintenance while I have ceased the Humira. My doctor advised that breastfeeding while on Azathioprine is not recommended so it is worthwhile to stop it after giving birth. I am now 39 weeks pregnant and stopped taking the Azathioprine to give it a few days to flush out of my system before giving birth and beginning to breastfeed.